Ayumi Hamasaki Sekai

Ayumi Hamasaki Sekai (http://www.ahsforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Articles (http://www.ahsforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   [translation] Girlpop 1999 March (magazine) (http://www.ahsforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=95624)

tenshi no hane 31st October 2009 03:35 PM

[translation] Girlpop 1999 March (magazine)

I translated one of Ayu's older interviews ^-^ (this is just after she's released WHATEVER).

It's quite interesting, she talks a lot about the past, 'A Song for XX' and about how important writing lyrics is to her.

(I'm still studying Japanese, so it's not 100% fool proof)
Quote:

Girlpop ’99 March

After debuting with “poker face”, she has released a single every two months, resulting in a total of five singles; Ayumi Hamasaki has run through 1998 perfectly. She entered the year 1999 together with her on New Year’s Day released first album “A Song for XX”. The album features a total of 16 songs. Of course all the lyrics were written by Ayumi Hamasaki. Furthermore this work reached the first place at the album charts.

These words were written in a corner of the album’s inner slip, “I was born twenty years ago, up ‘till now I’ve worn various faces but the naked Ayu is recorded here.”

This time, more than just being reflected in her lyrics, the “naked Ayu” recited a realness that is almost too great for a twenty year old.

----What kind of child were you?
“I wasn’t talkative. Even now I don’t chat much, but I was a really quiet child. If someone greeted me with ‘good morning’, I would turn completely red, look downward and just nod. I wonder if adults thought I was an impolite child when they saw me (laughs).”

----And at school?
“Even at boring times when everyone laughed, I wondered if I had to laugh along; I was desperate to blend in. Crowds tired me greatly.”

----Did you have any friends?